Leave a comment

Cherry pie filling

Hello Everyone!

Would you believe me, if I told you I never had pie? Well I haven’t. At least not a sweet pie. I had a steak and kidney pie in a pub in Penshurst, England, a number of years ago. But a sweet one? Never!

A few weeks ago I thought I’d have a go at making a sweet pie filling and I did. I have used it in several dishes, but not a pie. That’ll be something for me to try soon.

In this post, I’m sharing my recipe for cherry pie filling. I hope you’ll like it.

Happy cooking!

xxx
Ann

Cherry pie filling

Ingredients (1 450 ml jar)

  • 1 350 g glass cherries
  • 1 1/2 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1tbsp vanilla extract
  • 150 ml water

Method

  • Drain the cherries over a small cooking pot.
  • Heat the juice and add the honey.
  • Mix the cornstarch with the water until there are no lumps.
  • Pour the cornstarch mixture in the pan and boil for 5 minutes.
  • Add the vanilla and cherries.
  • Transfer into a sterilized jar and store in the fridge.

Note

  • This mixture isn’t only good as pie filling but is goes well in a trifle or as hot oatmeal topping.

 

Leave a Reply

