Leave a comment

Vienna 2016 (2/4)

Hi Everyone!

We’ve had a couple of musical and other things related days. I’m telling you all about it in this post.

Happy reading!

xxx
Ann

Vienna 2016 (2/4)

Monday 13 June
Today was our “Park Day”.
We started at the Burggarten, close to the Hofburg. It is the home of the statues of Mozart and Emperor Franz Joseph. On the premises, you can also find the Palmenhaus, where you can stop for a drink and the Schmetterlinghaus, where you can admire butterflies.


Our next stop was the Volksgarten. First Strauss connection of the day as all musicians in the Strauss family performed here and the small semi-circle building they often played at still exists. But the Volksgarten is also the home of the Theseustempel, the statues of Empress Elisabeth and the Austrian writer Franz Grillparzer and of many, many flowers, mainly roses. There was even a little fellow who whistled us a private concert.


Our last stop was the Rathauspark in front of the Rathaus. There you can find the statue of Johann Strauss Father and his friend Joseph Lanner. I couldn’t resist being a bit silly to have my picture taken.


I also showed my friends my favourite Viennese coffeehouse: Sluka.
Before splitting up, I took them to the house where Eduard Strauss I died.


They went shopping and I returned home write.

Tuesday 14 June
In the morning Ann and Bénédicte went to the morning training of the Spanish riding school.
On the way to my meeting with my friend Sarah, I came past the stables and saw how the horses were led inside for their training.


I went to the Nationalbibliothek where Sarah and I went to see another exhibition to commemorate the centenary of Emperor Franz Joseph’s death: der ewige Kaiser.


Then we went to the Augustinerkirche, which I hadn’t seen before.


We continued to the Burggarten to have a coffee/tea.


When Ann and Bénédicte joined us, we went for a “sausage lunch” from one of the best stands in town.IMG_9793
After lunch we said our goodbyes to Sarah and took tram 71 to the Zentralfriedhof, where we had a look at the musicians’ graves. My friends stayed and took the bus for a ride around the cemetery and I went home to get started on dinner.

Wednesday 15 June
Today was ”Birthday Day” and “Rest Day”.
We had a bubbly breakfast for Ann’s birthday and caught up on some sleep, writing and reading.IMG_9850
A tapas dinner concluded this quiet day. We’re getting some (more) sleep now to be fit for a Strauss-filled day tomorrow.13442402_10209540051888314_7807990239618196411_n
Nighty night!

Leave a Reply

