Leave a comment

Cauliflower cheese à la Amy

Hello Everyone!

In my Joyful Warrior Facebook group Tuesday is #tastytuesday, a day when we share our nutritious recipes with the group and on the group’s Pinterest board.
They are recipes we found on the internet and would like to try or have tried already and recipes of our own that we like to share.

I LOVE cauliflower and am always on the lookout for new ways to prepare it. About a year and a half ago, I discovered this recipe, one of my friend Sally’s, and I have made it over and over again since.

So I was pleasantly surprised yesterday when my fellow-warrior posted a picture of a whole cauliflower head which she had roasted with all yummy things.
Immediately a few of us wanted to know how she had done it and she was happy to briefly share her recipe.
I took notes and tried it out today. I changed a thing or two, only because I thought it made sense. I hope Amy will forgive me. And I must say it was very good! Another advantage is that because of the garlic smell all over the flat, I don’t have to be afraid of vampires visiting me tonight.

Have a go at it! I hope you’ll like it too.

Happy cooking.

xxx

Ann

Cauliflower cheese à la Amy

Ingredients (serves 4)

  • 1 medium cauliflower (leaves removed)
  • ¼ cup olive oil
  • 3 large cloves of garlic (grated)
  • 2 tbsp Dijon mustard
  • ½ cup grated parmesan
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 tbsp dry parsley (or fresh if you have it)IMG_6849

Method

  • Preheat the oven to 230°C (450°F).
  • Cut the bottom of the cauliflower so it sits upright in a roasting tin.
  • Mix the olive oil with the grated garlic, mustard and some black pepper.
  • Brush half of the mixture onto the cauliflower and sprinkle with half the parmesan.
  • Bake for 15 minutes.
  • Turn the oven down to 175°C (350°F) and bake for another 20 minutes.
  • Brush the remaining olive oil mixture over the cauliflower and bake for 15 minutes.
  • Sprinkle the rest of the parmesan cheese over the cauliflower and return to the oven for 10 minutes.
  • Check if it’s ready by inserting a metal skewer through the cauliflower for about 10 seconds. If you reach the bottom easily and the skewer is hot when you remove it, it’s cooked.IMG_6860
  • Decorate with parsley before serving.IMG_6861
  • I had mine with a lamb burger.

Notes

  • Preparation time is about 10 minutes.
  • The total cooking time was 1 hour for my medium cauliflower. Using a larger or smaller one will need shorter or longer cooking times.
  • This makes a perfect vegetable showstopper for a dinner party!
  • IMG_6862
Leave a Reply

