Leave a comment

Lemony thyme/garlic chicken

Hi everyone!

Since I moved into my own flat, I used to cook a Sunday lunch with all the trimmings every two weeks until a few years ago. I stopped doing so because I thought it was too much work and more important too much washing up.

This Easter I decided to change that and treat myself to a Sunday lunch at least once a month. Easter being the first time.

Today I’m sharing with you the Lemony thyme/garlic chicken I made on that occasion.

I hope you’ll make it one day and like it as much as I did.

xxx

Ann

Lemony thyme/garlic chicken

Ingredients for the herb butter

Ingredients for the chicken

  • 1 x 1.1kg chicken
  • 1 lemon cut in 8
  • 8 large cloves of garlic
  • 1 large white onion, thickly slicedIMG_6691

Method

  • Preheat the oven to 200°C
  • Mix all the ingredients for the herb butter.
  • Fill the cavity of the chicken with a bit of the butter, all the garlic cloves and as many pieces of lemon as possible and close the chicken with a string (I reuse the string the chicken comes with but there are Youtube videos explaining how to do it).
  • Put the onion slices in a roasting tin.
  • Rub the herb butter all over the chicken. If you have time and are patient, you can rub some between the skin and the breast meat.IMG_6692
  • Put the chicken on the onion slices.
  • Add any leftover lemon pieces.
  • Bake for 1 hour, basting with the juices from the tin every 20 minutes.
  • Rest the chicken for 15 minutes.IMG_6715
  • Squeeze the juice of the lemon pieces in the tin over the chicken.
  • If you are a gravy person, you can use the mix in the tin to make it (I’m not, so I didn’t).
  • Cut the chicken to pieces and dish up (I had it with roast potatoes and a simple tomato salad).IMG_6716
Leave a Reply

