1 Comment

Cranberry-Orange-Marmelade

Hello!

One of the first recipes I tried from Geschenke aus meiner Küche was this one for cranberry-orange marmalade.
But with a twist of course: I used blood orange juice instead of the regular orange juice mentioned in the recipe and added two small cinnamon sticks and two small star anise for a Christmassy flavour.

This marmalade goes very well with the Christmas morning muffins for a seasonal breakfast, with scones that have a little orange zest blended in the flour or on a simple piece of toast.

xxx

Ann

Ingredients (makes 6 250 ml jars)

  • 500 g cranberries
  • 350 ml blood orange juice
  • 500 g caster sugar
  • fine strips of zest from a large orange
  • 2 small cinnamon sticks
  • 2 small star aniseIMG_4862[1]

Method

  • Pour the cranberries, blood orange juice, cinnamon and star anise into a saucepan.
  • Put the lid on and bring to a boil.
  • Turn dowsn the heat and keep to the boil for 15 minutes, or until the cranberries have popped and are soft.
  • Add the sugar and orange zest.
  • Keep to the boil until the sugar has dissolved.
  • Put the heat on high and boil for another 5 minutes.
  • Remove the cinnamon sticks and star anise with a fork and transfer the marmalade to  jars and close tightly.
  • Turn the jars upside down for 5 minutes.
  • Turn them again and leave to cool before adding a label.

 

Notes

  • Because I don’t like my marmalade with chunks of fruit in it, I put the cranberries in my food processor and turn it on for about a minute, so the cranberries come out in tiny pieces. Then I proceed as mentioned above.
  • Turning the jars upside down for 5 minutes is something I learned from a friend who had lots of fruit in her garden and made plenty of marmalade and jam. I’m not sure what it’s good for, but being a good girl, I always do as I’m tought 🙂
  • When I give these as presents, I crochet round sort of coasters to cover the lids. This is not only a nice way to present them but also great to hide the lids as I use jars from things I buy during the year.

 

One comment on “Cranberry-Orange-Marmelade

  1. […] Breakfast Christmas morning muffins  with Cranberry-Orange-Marmelade […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

