Leave a comment

Vin chaud – Glühwein – Mulled Wine

Hello!

For me there is no winter without mulled wine.

The best recipe I found comes from Nigella Christmas. I’ve been making it for years now and the recipe I follow now is not exactly as hers anymore. But only slightly: I use dark brown sugar instead of regular white sugar as I find it enhances the flavour of the spices and the orange peel.

There’s always a jug of it in my fridge come December. When I feel like having some, I just pour some in a mug an reheat in the microwave.

I hope you’ll like it too.

Cheers!

xxx

Ann

Vin chaud – Glühwein – Mulled Wine

Ingredients

  • 1 75 cl bottle red wine
  • 4 short cinnamon sticks
  • A 13 cm curl orange zest
  • 75 g dark brown sugar
  • 1 star anise
  • 5 whole cloves
  • 80 ml cognacIMG_4830

Method

  • Prick the whole cloves in the orange zest. This will keep you from fishing them out later.
  • Put all the ingredients in a large saucepan.
  • Bring almost to a boil, turn down the heat and simmer gently.
  • When the sugar has dissolved, the mulled wine is ready.
  • Remove the star anise and orange zest with the cloves.
  • Either drink immediately or reheat later.IMG_4832

Notes

  • When reheating the mulled wine, make sure you don’t boil it.
  • Adding the cognac makes it extra strong. You can leave it out if you want to.
Leave a Reply

