1 Comment

Salt dough Christmas decoration

Hello!

Making salt dough decorations takes me back to my youth. I can’t tell you how many I made over the past xx years 🙂

I don’t only use them for decorating the Christmas tree but I make them for all sort of occasions as gift tags or seating cards (especially nice if you know what your guests like and you can incorporate that in the tags).

It’s a great craft for kids but make sure they don’t put the dough in their mouths (or yours).

There are many ways of making the dough. After having tried a few of them, I came up with the “recipe” below. It has bits and pieces from various things I tested.

Happy crafting!

xxx

Ann

Salt dough Christmas decoration

Ingredients

  • 1 kg plain flour
  • 0.5 kg fine salt
  • 600 ml water
  • 2 tbsp glycerine

Method

  • Mix the  water with the glycerine in a measuring cup.
  • In a bowll whisk the flour and salt together.
  • Add the liquid to the flour mixture.
  • Start stiring with a spoon, then get your hands in and combine until you have a firm ball.
    IMG_4667
  • Wrap the dough in plastic wrap and leave for about an hour.
  • Roll out the dough until about 1 cm thick.
  • Using cookie cutters, cut out various shapes.
  • Make a little whole on the top of each of them to pull a string through and hang them in the tree.IMG_4668
  • Preheat the oven to 100°C.
  • Carefully put the ornaments on a baking tray (I use my old ones that aren’t good enough to use for food anymore, but do nicely for this).IMG_4669
  • Bake for about 2 hours.
  • After an hour turn the ornaments and bake for another hour.
  • Wait until the pieces are completely cold before painting and sprinkling them with glitter.
  • Let them dry completely before hanging them in the tree or using them for something else.IMG_4684

Notes

  • If you have cookie cutters in the shape of hands you can make these cute Father Christmas ones. If you don’t, follow the instructions in the link.
  • You could use oil instead of the glycerine but I find the ornaments come out browner when I do.
  • Don’t be tempted to set the oven to a higher temperature as that will turn your ornaments brown.
  • I made my figurines 1 cm thick because I won’t be using them to hang in my tree. When you’re making these as tree decoration you can make them thinner and reduce the baking time.
One comment on “Salt dough Christmas decoration

  1. […] name, a card in a Christmas bauble or the first letter of the guest’s name made in salt dough under a glass with some small baubles and a candle on top. This year, I made some large salt dough […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

