Leave a comment

Gingerbread vodka

Hello!

One of my (bad) habits is buying cook books. Or food related ones. When coming home from holiday, my suitcase and I have brought back many.

Geschenke aus meiner Küche is one of them. Bought during one of my many trips to Vienna. It translates as much as “Presents from my kitchen”, which doesn’t mean I can’t use the recipes for myself, right?
IMG_4607

I’m making the “Lebkuchenlikör” from this book.
I guess English speaking people would call “Lebkuchen” “gingerbread”, so it doesn’t take much thinking what this drink will taste like.

It’s the first time I made it. I must say my presentation is nothing like the one from the book, so instead of posting a picture from the boring jar I poured mine in, I took the liberty of taking a picture of the picture in the book and show you that. Also, I used vodka because I couldn’t find the alcohol mentioned in the recipe

Come on, have a go at it too!

xxx

Ann

Gingerbread vodka

Ingredients (enough for 1 x 750 ml bottle)

  • 100 g icing sugar, sieved
  • 100 g dark chocolate chips
  • 400 ml cream
  • 50 ml full fat milk
  • 2 tsp Lebkuchengewürz*
  • 200 ml vodka

Method

  • Put the cream and milk in a glass bowl and add the chocolate.
  • Place the bowl over a pan of simmering water, making sure the bottom of the glass bowl doesn’t touch the water and melt the chocolate.
  • Stir in the icing sugar until it is dissolved.
  • Add the Lebkuchengewürz and vodka and stir well.
  • Transfer into a sterilized bottle immediately and seal tightly.
  • Keep in the fridge.

Notes

  • * Lebkuchengewürz = 20 g cinnamon sticks + 5 g cloves + 3 green cardamom pods + 3 g allspice berries + 2 g koriander seeds + 2 g star anise finely grounded to which you add 4 g ground ginger and 3 g ground nutmeg. A lovely recipe I found here.

04 Lebkuhenlikör

Leave a Reply

