Leave a comment

Hummus with smoked paprika

I was introduced to hummus in 2010 when I was invited to a vegetarian friend’s home for dinner. She served a shop bought humus three ways with baguette as an appetizer. I loved it. I asked my Uncle Google about it and he told me it was very easy to make. He showed me some recipes and I got started. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to find tahini in my usual shops for a very long time. As a matter of fact, I only found a bottle at the supermarket a few weeks ago! But I made two variations without the tahini: a curry one and a red pepper one. Very successfully I dare say. They have been the star of many entertaining evening.

I will share the recipes for those too. Keep an eye out for them. I am starting with the recipe for my first hummus with tahini though. It is Ann’s Twist of Jamie Oliver’s “The best basic hummus recipe” I found on Pinterest. Are you interested in a simple, quick appetizer? Well, here we go.

First open the can of chickpeas, pour them in a colander and rinse with cold water. Get your food processor ready and pour in the chickpeas.

IMG_3198

Next add 3 tsp of tahini, 1 large clove of garlic, 0.5 tsp of crushed sea salt, 6 tbsp of olive oil, 2 tbsp of lemon juice and 0.5 tsp of smoked paprika. Put on the lid and turn on the machine. Blend until fully combined and smooth. You may want to check if there are no larger pieces of garlic in the mixture.

IMG_3195

Spoon the hummus into a serving dish when serving right away or into a sealable container to use later.

IMG_3203

This is great served as a dip for bread, cherry tomatoes, carrots and cucumber. You can have it as an appetizer when having friends over or as a healthy evening snack. If you don’t want double dipping when you’re entertaining, you can put some hummus in small individual bowls for each of your guests.

I hope you will try and like this recipe. Let me know if you do (or even if you don’t).

Ingredients (makes about 300 g)

  • 1 can of chickpeas (400 g)
  • 3 tsp tahini
  • 1 (large) garlic clove
  • 0,5 tsp crushed sea salt
  • 6 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 0.5 tsp smoked paprika

Method

  • Put all the ingredients in a food processor and blend until fully combined and smooth.
  • Spoon into a serving dish when serving right away or into a sealable container to use later.
  • Enjoy!

Notes

  • Serve with crackers, cherry tomatoes, carrots or cucumber.
Leave a Reply

