6 Comments

Stuffing and making up dolls

Hello!

In this post, I’m explaining how to stuff and make up dolls.

Happy reading.

xxx

Ann

Stuffing and making up dolls

As mentioned in Knitting Kit, I use cheap yarn to fill my dolls. It gives, according to me, the best results. But you can use whatever stuffing you like.

Let me explain how I do it. Basically, I wind the yarn round my fingers.

Round two fingers for the arms and round three fingers for the legs. Then cut if off and put the strands on the table. 10 strands to start with one of the limbs: I fill it strand by strand until it’s completely filled. Doing so, I’ll know how many strands I need for the second one.
04 01 cutting
It is important not to put in too much of the filling, or the body parts will stretch too much.

To close the arms and legs, I use the same yarn I used when casting off the stiches. I put a knot at the end and close the leg by sewing the cast off stiches together. Once with the right side facing me and once with the wrong side facing me.

0401 closing leg
For the body I wind the yarn round four fingers, make a pile of the strands and run my hands through the yarn to loosen it up before putting it in the body.
First I put a small handful in, pressing it down as much as possible to form an even head. Then I keep putting bits of yarn in, shaping the head as I go along. When the head is filled, I keep adding yarn for the upper and lower body and close it with the colour I used for the lower body.
To form the head, I take a long thread in skin colour and thread it through the first knitted row of the head, pull tightly, wrap round the neck again, make a knot and then pull it through the head and cut it off.

04 01 filling body
Then I sew the arms and legs to the body.

The arms are put on the knitted row where I have decreased to shape the shoulders.04 01 seweing on arm
The legs are attached in two parts: once on the front and once on the back.

0401 closing leg
And that’s the doll stuffed and made up.

IMG_3439

6 comments on “Stuffing and making up dolls

  1. […] and assemble Thomas as explained here. With a red thread, sew on the nose and mouth. Then glue two eyes one stitch away from both sides […]

    Like

  2. […] and assemble Thomas as explained here. With a red thread, sew on the nose and mouth. Then glue two eyes one stitch away from both sides […]

    Like

  3. […] Fill and assemble Thomas as explained here. […]

    Like

  4. […] and assemble Thomas as explained here. Please check this list for abbreviations […]

    Like

  5. […] and assemble Annabel as explained here. Please check this list for abbreviations used. Give the doll one round of hair on the top of its […]

    Like

  6. […] and assemble Annabel as explained here. Please check this list for abbreviations […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

